College Leadership


St. Petersburg College is part of the Florida College System, consisting of 28 public postsecondary educational institutions that were previously known as the Florida Community College System. These two- and four-year institutions offer GED training, developmental/remedial studies, adult education, certificates, associate degrees, and selected bachelor’s degrees. The Florida College System was created in 2008 to maximize open access for students, respond to community needs for postsecondary academic and career degree education, and provide associate and baccalaureate degrees that will best meet the state’s employment needs.

Each Florida college is governed by a local board of trustees, which uphold rules set by the State Board of Education. These trustees are appointed by the governor for staggered four-year terms of service.